Best Dictionaries for intermediate learners?

jmido8

Hi! I just started my 3rd year of college Chinese and i'm trying to decide on one of the paid dictionaries to buy. I'm studying abroad this year in China but my Chinese still isn't great. I need a dictionary with pinyin and English otherwise I won't be able to understand it. Does anyone have any recommendations?

Thanks!

mikelove

皇帝
Staff member
jmido8 said:
Hi! I just started my 3rd year of college Chinese and i'm trying to decide on one of the paid dictionaries to buy. I'm studying abroad this year in China but my Chinese still isn't great. I need a dictionary with pinyin and English otherwise I won't be able to understand it. Does anyone have any recommendations?

Since nobody else has chimed in: the ABC is usually our recommendation in these cases, it covers a lot more words than the built-in one but still includes copious Pinyin / English.

scykei

榜眼
Haha. But I'd probably wait for the big update since it's so close now, hopefully. The English-Chinese is okay, but the Chinese-English is basically Pleco's built-in one stripped out of its example sentences. :\

mikelove

皇帝
Staff member
scykei said:
Haha. But I'd probably wait for the big update since it's so close now, hopefully.

It is, but it's probably not going to shake up the general-purpose dictionary situation in too major a way.

scykei said:
The English-Chinese is okay, but the Chinese-English is basically Pleco's built-in one stripped out of its example sentences. :\

Interesting response... how would you compare the ABC E-C to the NWP one (if you have both)?

scykei

榜眼
I never gave it any thought since switching between them is so easy to do. I rarely even notice which dictionary I'm using.

I did a quick search for random adjectives, nouns and verbs that pop into my mind. I'll comment on which I feel is better (of course, it is only my personal opinion).

• peaceful - no entry for ABC
  • delicious - NWP better
  • helpful - no entry for ABC