Dictionary Requests

Mike,

Thanks again for your excellent work on this software and in getting licenses to the dictionary entries that you have so far.

I've been studying Chinese for a couple years and I find that I most often use the following dictionaries. As I migrate towards using Pleco for more of my study needs, I'd like to be able to bring these with me.

中华成语辞典 - I'm very surprised that there is no chengyu dictionary in the Pleco collection, and this is a major fault. I really hope you can get a license this one (shouldn't be difficult, the electronic version is ubiquitous in Chinese electronic dictionaries).
现代汉语辞典 双语版 - guifan is good and all, but there is an English/Chinese dual language version with full pinyin pronunciation for the word, so it shouldn't be necessary to choose between the accuracy of the Xiandai Hanyu dictionary and having English entries. Especially since it contains many of the common chengyu with both English and Chinese explanations.
汉英大辞典 - only pinyin for head words, but includes grammar information that key into classes at the upper-intermediate level.
新华字典 - as a zidian it only has single characters, but has a very extensive list of their meanings, as well as full pinyin and character examples of each meaning. This is a small book, but very useful.

I really hope we can get licenses to these available. Until then, my briefcase is going to have two touch screen dictionaries. I'd really like to lighten my load! :) Thanks for your hard work, and since I'm in China I'd be more than happy to do anything I can to help you. I can definitely find out who publishes these.

Rob

mikelove

皇帝
Staff member