Flashcard flashcard go away...

Li Fei

Is there something I can do to determine the rate at which flashcards come up once they've been 'learnt' or reached a certain score? I've been using Frequency Adjust and limiting the number of new cards that are added to my pile (great feature!). However, the learnt cards and even those I have been studying for many months still seem to be coming up as frequently as the new ones and some now have scores in the hundreds of thousands. I thought they would automatically reduce in frequency according to their score. Is there something else I need to do to? I think I tried this with the Repetition Spaced option and had the same problem.

mikelove

皇帝
Staff member
Well one thing you could do would be to enable the "limit unlearned" option; that'll keep learned cards from taking up more than a set portion of your flashcard session. It's available in the Cards tab of Advanced Settings.

I'm not sure why the old cards would be coming up so frequently, though - if you go into Card Info for a card that you feel like you've just studied, does its "last reviewed" time actually indicate that it was shown recently? (it could be that you're just so familiar with the words that you feel like you've seen them recently, though it could certainly also be a bug :) )

mikelove

皇帝
Staff member
One other possibility - how many cards are included in your session by default, i.e., how many are covered by your selected categories / card filters if you set card selection to Random and # of cards (in Test Setup) to All? If there are too few, those old cards might keep coming up simply because there are no other cards left to show you.

Li Fei