Improving one's tones

Z-Lo

秀才
Does anyone have advice on improving the recognition, retention, and thereby production of tones when studying Chinese?

My tones are actually not that bad, but I want them to be perfect. I am in an "advanced" class, live in China, and speak pretty fluently. But I often catch myself making a tone mistake or even forgetting one of the tones in a word, sometimes even a relatively basic word.

I imagine it is probably partly because I studied on my own a lot at first and also went through periods where I didn't study or use Chinese for a year or two at a time. For me, I find that the tones are the first thing to go if I am not completely confident with a word, even if I remember the pronunciation otherwise.

I found the app Tone Test by Laokang, which I think is pretty good and helpful. But I'd like more suggestions.

Are you overly conscious of your tones when you speak with Chinese people or do you consciously or unconsiously tend to speak in a neutral tone when unsure?

You need to hear the tones of vocab and expressions as native speakers use them to reinforce them in your mind but few Chinese speak slow and clear enough or use standard Mandarin pronunciation for that to happen. As I'd written elsewhere, even qualified Chinese teachers have difficulty distinguishing a neutral from a 3rd tone, or a 3rd from a 2nd tone (as I do too at times) but won't confuse a 1st or a 4th with any other tones. When I'm doing a flaschard session, I'll mark it wrong if I even get the tones wrong but konw the pronunciation and the meaning--my problem is I haven't listened to the dialogues yet from the books I'm using. I just finished (quickly reviewing) the ELEMENTARY SPOKEN CHINESE and now I'm on Lesson 1 of the INTERMEDIATE.