PDAs on their way out

lilongyue

I live in Hangzhou, Zhejiang province, PRC, where I'm studying Chinese at Zhejiang University. I've been thinking about getting a PDA and installing Plecodict for fast, convienient look-up of characters. But, I'm back in the States for a visit, and went to a electronics store to see what they had, and there were only 3 PDS for sale, Palm Pilot models. The guy working at the store said PDAs are being phased out, and Palm is one of the last companies still making them. HP has already stopped because of the integration with mobile phones, and it seems that PDAs (as seperate units) will soon be a thing of the past. Plecodict seems very handy, but I don't want to get stuck with a PDA that is discontiued, whose operating system won't be upgraded, and therefore has no support and bug fixes offered. Does anyone have any more information about what will be replacing PDAs? Will the fully integrated PDA/phone units be running the same firmware/OS? If not, will a complete overhaul of Plecodict be made so that it works with the next thing that will be replacing the PDA?

sfrrr

状元
Never believe the guys in American computer stores. They just make it up as they go along, HP in the US, HTC in China? Taiwan, and several other manufacturers are still going strong. HP recently released a bunch of new PDAs, including one they're aiming at the Enterprise (meaning large corporations). I just bought an HP 211 and am ecstatic with it--four-inch VGA screen; two expansion slots (one CF and one SDHC); etc. (The two expansion cards are necessary because the SD card casn hold all of the programs you installed and the CF card can hold PlecoDict.) The 211 may be too pricy for you, but both HP and HTC have lower priced models. And just to be clear, these are pocket PCs--that is, they run on Windows Mobile, no the Palm OS.

Also, Palm is supposedly coming out with their new Linux-based Palms in April, I believe.

Hope this helps,
Sandra

mikelove

皇帝
Staff member